08
Sep
06

Of murder, taiyaki, comet interception, and piloting fighter planes.

And so with episode 22 of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, this so-so animation has finally gained credibility in being a good series once again.

For the beginning, in typical Higurashi style, we are given a glimpse of what happens in the future (which as just 5 episodes away, apparently). Rena looks cool, yet rather insane in a black tight suit while the other 4 are just staring at her talk about… something. Oh, there was some dead guy, but I can’t tell who. Probably Rena’s mom or Satoko’s uncle. With the first half of the episode, we are shown a good bit of filler. Not that it’s a bad thing, of course, as we see Rika in Angel Mort’s waitress outfit, Mion in a Gym uniform + cat tail, and Satoko in a maid outfit. As the second half of the show progresses, we are given a little insight to Rena’s childhood, and we get to see her dad too. Soon after, we see her mom once more, but this time, it’s in the present. Now, we are given a new reason to hate Satoko’s uncle, whose name wasn’t worth remembering. He is blackmailing and “badgering” to earn money, and guess who’s the woman who’s doing that badgering — that’s right, it’s Rena’s mom! We then see a bit more of Shion and Kasai explains a bit about Rena’s mom and that bastard uncle. The episode ends with Rena doing a little facial contortion thing that we all love — a clear indication that we’ll see uncle fucker get his head bashed in again. Only this time, with a huge fucking machette.

This ep was probably one of my more favorite ones, if only for the fact that we see Waitress Rika, Gym Uniform Rena and Maid Satoko. Also, episode 22 was pretty important, information-wise since we are given a good backstory to Rena’s childhood. I’m definitely awaiting the next one with much anticipation.

Okay, next topic.

This is pretty old, but I just watched a trailer for Kanon 2006, and HOLY FUCKING SHIT. The animation just blew me away. Never have I seen this kind of quality in any other animation, ever (maybe asides from some stuff like Haruhi, among others). Kanon’s backgrounds were beautiful, equalling, if not surpassing, those found in a regular eroge. Scenes from the trailer had also matched many of those found in the actual game, as I saw in *someone’s* comparison. All I can say is, I am definitely looking forward to grabbing this series.

Moving on…

Again, probably really old, but I found the sequel to Stratos 4, aptly titled, “Stratos 4 Advance”. It deals with the journey of 3 new girls in the Okinawa base. One thing I definitely like about it was that nearly the entire cast (or probably everyone) was still present in the sequel. This means that, yes, the budget’s gonna take a hit from this, but the interaction I loved back in the original will still be present here. Now I need to wait for the next 5 episodes. Stupid slow and crappy internet…

Now for something non-anime related.

Just a few weeks back, I made a shocking new discovery. The arcades at the basement of a somewhat nearby mall are home to two of the most well-known shmup series EVAR: Strikers and Giga Wing. While I am overjoyed that I can finally sit down and play some quality games, I am sad as well, for they are in coin-op machines, which are quite annoying to work with because every fucking time I play Giga Wing, it eats up my credits every few times I jam some money into it. More annoying is the fact that this mall where the arcades are located at is in a distant location from both where I live, and where I go to school. Which means I only get some happy fun shmup time for 30 – 45 minutes every Sunday. And that’s assuming I actually get to go there at all.

Now to wait until those machines are junked. Then I’ll take ’em and bring ’em home (to quote Rena, omochikairi~~~!), hopefully with no expenses on my part. Afterwards, I plug it in, and shmup up my house so hard that even God will want to come and play.

0 Responses to “Of murder, taiyaki, comet interception, and piloting fighter planes.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,297 hits

