03
Feb
07

Mushishi GET

I stopped by one of my local bookstores, saw Mushishi volume 1, and immediately picked it up.
There goes 2 weeks of allowance. orz

But enough about that; I should be talking about the manga, not my thinner wallet.
So as everyone probably knows, Mushishi was often described as a “beautiful and dreamy” manga, and the Del Rey Newsletter even said it was “strange, dark, and moody, [like they were] satellite photos from another world”. Indeed, it was rather strange, though it’s not as if you’ll be stricken by it (assuming you watched the anime, and you better.)

Having watched the show, I can definitely say that the show was really faithful to the work, as far as I can see, and that’s definitely a good thing. I’d have to say though, that I kinda preferred the anime’s art, as opposed to the manga’s because the art was kinda smoother-looking, though I can assume that the art style of the manga was really meant to strengthen the dark and moody feeling of the entire manga. Perhaps, it could be to give more focus to the story and plot, or to promote deeper thinking of the entire thing, I really don’t know. What I do know is, Mushishi is a damn good manga, and a damn good anime. Read and watch them both. Then when the Mushishi Live Action comes out, watch that too so I’ll know whether or not I should watch it.

Kanon Fanboyism. Though it’s edited.
actual scan here.

2 Responses to “Mushishi GET”


  1. 1 Zzz...
    February 8, 2007 at 3:46 am

    …ahaha…*smack*…the exact same thing happened to me…

    …saw Mushishi on shelf…pounce…but I think it’s totally worth it…

  2. February 8, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    We are all victims of impulse buying. orz


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,297 hits

