04
May
07

Figure Review: Alter’s 1/8 Fate Testarossa

Wow, I’ve been searching for Fate ever since last October, and I’ve finally gotten her just on Labor Day. I attribute the late arrival due to the fact that WasabiToys ships by sea. Probably caused those dents in the box too.
Before I get to the review, I’d like to show the studio I’ve used for Fate’s photoshoot. I’d have done this outdoors at night, but I lack proper lighting and photography equipment (and skills orz).

studio.jpg
For the record, this is my dad’s table, not mine. My table is only six square feet, and my computer’s already on it.

I wanna thank super rats for that tutorial he wrote on figure photography. The lamp behind the diffuser is an Omni GXHO31 (couldn’t find it on Google, but whatever). The one on the upper right is another Omni, but I lost the box (and it’s not mine anyways) so no idea on the model. Both are not really recommended for stuff like this, considering they can’t go very far in terms of “proper” lighting. I used 9 Watt fluorescent bulbs on both lamps, which is why the lighting is so poor. There’s another 21 Watt fluorescent bulb at the top, which I generally use if there’s insufficient lighting.
The camera used was a Sony Cybershot DSC-P150. 7 megapixels, but macro mode leaves little to be desired. White balance is awful too; I couldn’t get the proper white in any preset mode, and it didn’t offer manual white balance either. “You work with what you have”, I guess.
As you can see, the diffuser is poorly constructed (thrown together with random scrap parts) and the white background that you’ll later see in the pictures that follow is really bad too. I guess I just suck really really bad at photography.

Another thing to point out: the huge huge box.

box.jpg
Slim PS2 to the lower left, Excel Saga DVD 1 to the right; for comparison.

Seriously, no matter how big the box seems to be, it’s probably bigger than that. I mean, it couldn’t fit into my backpack, and that thing could fit all my school textbooks inside. It’d probably fit in tjhan’s otaku bag though, ahaha.

Now, onto the review.

fate_01.jpg
Oh God, the point and shoot camera’s white balance modes suck ass.

There are three key points in this figure for me. Fate’s pose, Fate’s cape, and Bardiche Zanber.
Her pose is quite a dynamic one; it creates the scene of her soaring into the sky to deal a deadly blow to her enemy. Her left leg is lifted up, and her skirt follows suit; in the same way, that makes it so much easier for you to take an upskirt shot.
The cape is huge; without it, the box’s size would’ve probably been halved. It’s made of rigid ABS plastic (I think) so it definitely won’t be warping anytime soon. The colors and shading of the said cape are brilliant. The way the colors lighten or darken on the cape give it an extraordinarily stunning appearance. Additionally, Fate’s giant tuft of hair on the side (as with all Triangle Heart-based characters) is kept, along with her trademark twintails.
The hair, cape, and probably just about everything feel very solid, and give the impression that even in a year’s time, she won’t deform in the slightest.

fate_02.jpg
Oh yes, this is probably the worst picture I took (asides from those deleted ones) thanks to the shitty, shitty color.

Finally, the final point of focus on this figure: Bardiche Zanber. The gem is clearly visible, and really pretty to look at. The blade itself isn’t too shabby either. The edges are quite sharp and the middle area is much more opaque and gives off this feeling of etched glass, even though it’s plastic. The two exhaust pipes of sorts are also visible, and the metal hilt gives a much better look and feel than the plastic hilts of most other swords.
Another thing, Fate’s clothing is unbelievably glossy. I mean, her stockings, her belt, the cape… it’s quite dazzling compared to most other figures.
Unfortunately, the figure has a few problems that plague it as well. The dreaded hair seam is incredibly visible here. Not only that, her right arm is a little too straight considering that it’s a giant sword she’s holding, albeit made of energy. Still, nine-year olds don’t just go gripping that kinda stuff without even flinching in the slightest. There are a good number of seamlines around her as well, such as her left er… posterior. These setbacks are pretty much present in 90% of PVCs though, but still minus points for her.

fate_03.jpg
The quality of my studio is evidently seen by that tape in the background.

Summary
Pros:
– Rock-solid
– Awesome pose and sword
– Beautiful expression and sculpt
– Incredible shading and coloring
– Fate is love and win
Cons:
– Bardiche is really really heavy (may bend at some point; remedied by resting the end on a cotton ball)
– Cape is unbelievably prone to collecting dust
– Hugebox is huuuuuuge
– Really really noticeable hairline seam
– The owner/photographer sucks at what he does.

Overall score: 93%

All-in-all, an incredibly good figure, with just a pinch of minor setbacks from the PVC molding process. Definitely worth it, even if it’s worth two weeks of your pay.

Omake:

fate_04.jpg
Obligatory upskirt shot

You can find the other few shots I took here.

11 Responses to “Figure Review: Alter’s 1/8 Fate Testarossa”


  1. May 5, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Fate has a delicious ass.

  2. May 5, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Unfortunately, that delicious ass has a seamline on it.

  3. May 6, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I’m quite happy with the figure. I’ve grown less and less bothered by minor seam lines because you can really only see them in figurine pictorials. Now, I only mention them if I can see them easily from like three feet away.

    As far as white balance, depending on the program you are using, you can make those adjustments there as well. Even the automatic adjustment settings are pretty good in some programs.

  4. May 7, 2007 at 1:39 am

    Ah, I see. Thanks for the tip. I didn’t alter the pictures after taking them so that’s probably why they ended up so bad.

    Well, asides from the fact that I’m not good at this at all. >_>

  5. May 7, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Awesome stuff here “Zeroblade” ! You put yourself down too much.

    (^_^)

    I think the figurine’s great, it makes me think about starting a collection of my own. But, if you don’t mind, from which anime does Fate come from?! Or is it a game?! I don’t think I’ve heard of it.

    Aite, catch ya laters!

  6. May 9, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    “Fate has a delicious ass.”

    That isn’t the ass of a 9-yr.-old. -_-

  7. 8 valho
    May 9, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Jade: Fate is from the anime Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha currently in it’s 3rd season, where we dun get 9 yr old Fate anymore but a 19 yrs old Fate 😀
    btw Zeroblade nice addition to ur collection, Fate was the first figure i ordered online and she came in a huge box that i had to carry back from office to my house by train. i am very satisfied with her even with the seamline problem 🙂

  8. May 10, 2007 at 6:53 am

    Awesome-ness, thanks valho!

    Just gonna peruse through that show then, just to get an idea of the character. I don’t really go for the Magical Girl-thing, anymore.

    TheBigN–>Truly not the ass of a 9 year old! There’s something fundamentally wrong here.. XD

  9. May 10, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    So then, what kind of an ass is it?

  10. May 11, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    Fate’s ass is on “steroids” !!! That’s all I’m saying..or maybe Botox treatments.

    *shivers in horror*


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,379 hits

