02
Dec
07

The JLPT was…

…a mixed bag. Reading/Vocab was unbelievably easy, considering one question asks you to fill in the blank in the sentence, “I went to the 10th floor on a __”, with choices like “Elevator” and “Fork”. I unfortunately got confused on a particular number, but I’m pretty sure it isn’t going to be too bad. Ah, the benefits of Chinese education prior to testing…
Listening/Comprehension was just a tad more difficult, since they used a lot of vocabulary that I haven’t taken up yet. Reading/Grammar & Comprehension, on the other hand… Oh God, the horror. I ended up half-guessing around half the test with that, since, like Listening/Comprehension, there was a lot of stuff I hadn’t taken up yet. That’s what I get for having the audacity to take the test when I’ve taken up only around 60% of the recommended study material.

Oh well, 60% is a passing mark anyway.

Now have some Naru Nanao, because she’s just so awesome like that.

naru-nanao_01_small.jpg

2 Responses to “The JLPT was…”


  1. December 2, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    heh, sounds a bit like the HSK. taking a test that grades for levels 3-8 when you’re somewhere around level 4 is rather… discouraging. I had to guess most of the answers, and when it came to writing characters I was lost – if I could figure out what character to put in the sentence, then I couldn’t remember how to write the darn thing. supposedly I just need somewhere around 50% to get level 4.

  2. December 3, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Incidentally, my high school administered the HSK for high school years 1 and 4. No idea on levels though. We’ve had Chinese in the curriculum since like, the very beginning of the school (nursery & prep, elementary 1-7, secondary 1-4) so characters aren’t too much of a difficulty, but what we’ve been taking up recently was elementary-grade stuff, even though we’re in high school. It’s because of some new curriculum implemented about two-three years ago, but I digress.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

