16
Apr
08

More Spring Impressions


What I felt like after watching To LOVE-Ru

I’ve been feeling under the weather recently (colds, sore eyes, and all that), not to mention I have a summer job coming in a few days, so I’ll keep this short.

To LOVE-Ru 01
BOOBS

This show was all about the boobs and fanservice. The story, as many people pointed out, was totally lame and generic. Production values were so-so and music wasn’t really noticeable, including the OP and ED. Voice acting wasn’t memorable, though it’s been quite some time since I’d watched it. I kinda liked the Star Wars parody in the opening, but really, nothing else stood out for me, save for a pair of large melons.
Personally, I’d lump this with Kanokon as one of those mindless fanservice-fests, which aren’t exactly unavoidable, given the Japanese market.

Zettai Karen Children 01
PENIS BEAM

Haha, yeah, Aroduc was right in the series being awesome solely because of the PENIS BEAMS. Too bad the next episode apparently doesn’t have those anymore, but it has a loli meganekko! That totally wins points from me. Still, at this point, the show’s still wavering between good and mediocre.
Animation was pretty good, though it put me off for a bit a while. Despite the many opportunities for panty shots and stuff, I never actually noticed any of them, which is a good thing. Music wasn’t too bad, but the OP wasn’t that outstanding. The ED, however, was quite good.

Soul Eater 01
PUMPKINS

Out of these three, I’d say this is definitely the best one. Fight scenes were, in my opinion, well-choreographed, particularly when Maka fought Jack the Ripper. The camera kept going all over the place though, which, while making the action seem more fast-paced, makes it somewhat harder to actually follow what’s going on in the scene. Another problem of mine with the series is that the background seems to have gotten more animation detail than the foreground, where we’re supposed to be looking at. Also, in a few scenes, some characters look like they have cat noses for reasons unknown.
Voice acting in general was okay, but Maka’s voice actor kinda delivered the lines a little flatly. Like she had a cold or something. There was a good bit of cleavage shown in the episode itself too, but hopefully, that’ll die down. Hopefully.

To come (hopefully): Wagaya no Oinari-sama, Kamen no Maid Guy, Neo Angelique ~Abyss~, Kazoku Kyouran Nikki, Nabari no Ou, Kurenai, Vampire Knight

4 Responses to “More Spring Impressions”


  1. April 16, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I’m ashamed to admit that I kind of enjoyed To LOVE-Ru. I found it superior to Kanokon. To LOVE-Ru seemed very lively and fun. I like that.

    Karen Children was alright… don’t know if I’ll end up completely the series.

  2. April 16, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    kamen no maid guy is awesome

  3. April 18, 2008 at 12:06 am

    TDOMJ, It’s kinda funny that most of the stuff I was actually looking forward too ended up being total shit, while other shows like Nabari no Ou are worlds better.

    Hugbees, I’m just kinda scared of the chins.

  4. April 25, 2008 at 6:01 am

    I agree with TDOMJ, I enjoy To Love Ru more than Kanokon although I didn’t expect much in the beginning in term of story from a fanservice like anime because most likely it is shallow.

    I watch it only for laughs ^_^


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

