22
Apr
08

Even More Spring Impressions

Since I get back awfully late everyday, I haven’t found the time to take, process, and upload screenshots, so the posts will just have a single screenshot and some randomass wallpapers at the beginning and end.

Shows covered: Wagaya no Oinari-sama, Kazoku Kyouran Nikki, >Nabari no Ou, Kurenai

Wagaya no Oinari-sama 01, 02

Episode 1 was totally… uneventful, I guess. It took the show 22 minutes to show something worth around 10. Whenever a youkai or whoever spoke in “Old Japanese”, I couldn’t help but be reminded of Horo too for some reason. OP and ED were okay, I guess. The ED was better though, in my opinion. It suited the show more that the OP. Animation… I’m not really sure. It’s pretty good, but there were places where it got a bit spotty, but it’s better than some other shows I’ve seen. The way that the female and male Kuugen were voiced separately was a good touch too, but I guess it’s obvious.
Overall, a decent show, but it’d better pick up the pace soon.

Kazoku Kyouran Nikki 01

Damn, this show makes totally no sense whatsoever. A loli catgirl wife, a killer android, talking lion, non-talking jellyfish, a gay guy, and a regular loli (though bullied) as kids. I loved how Kyouka talked faster than listening to gabbah, but her Haruhi-like attitude pissed me off. Also, the ED was totally awesome. Animation was much better than expected, though I actually didn’t notice that NOMAD (of sola fame) was doing much of the animation until now.
Definitely one of the better comedies out there – filled with non sequitur (I love that phrase) total randomness – though it doesn’t seem like there are a lot this season anyway.

Nabari no Ou 01, 02

Stunning animation by JC Staff, as almost-always. The story makes me think of Naruto, in the “has ninjas” sense, except this is probably infinity times better. And it’s not by Studio Pierrot, who provides us such other thought-provoking anime like Bleach. Now that I’ve listened to the OP a bit more now, I’ve found it to be a bit more to my liking, though like some others said, the song doesn’t really pick up until the chorus, and by then, the song’s almost over anyway. The ED however, is not to my tastes – I’m not too into slow songs, particularly in action shows. Oh, and Raimei is probably one of the few blonde twintails that isn’t a tsundere.
This show ought to be at the top of any spring season watchlist, with the likes of Kurenai, which I shall get to now.

Kurenai 01, 02

I have mixed feelings about this show. Some people panned the character designs, and while I honestly find them… off, they’re actually not that bad. Plot-wise, I’ve totally been pulled in – what’s up with Shinkurou’s body, why did Benika decide to “defect”, so to speak – and so on. Plus it has a loli, yet she’s not a dojikko/a meganekko/a tsundere/any particularly moe thing, nor does she have the hots for the main guy (yet).
A great show, intriguing plot, and interesting characters. Will most definitely follow this quite actively.


What’s left: Kamen no Maid Guy, Neo Angelique ~Abyss~, Vampire Knight, The Tower of Druaga (the real one).

And more Renko and Maribel. All three wallpapers are by Studio S.D.T., by the way

note-edited for redundancy.

5 Responses to “Even More Spring Impressions”


  1. 1 Rin
    April 23, 2008 at 11:44 am

    Nice!!! A lot of good anime that came out this month. You can’t forget Code Geass R2. I’m currently watching most of those anime!!!

  2. 2 TDOMJ
    April 24, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Yeah Wagaya no Oinari-sama was kind of slow. I don’t think I’ll watch it.

  3. April 25, 2008 at 5:56 am

    Nabari no Ou is awesome. I love it. It’s many times better than Naruto in my opinion. Moreover, it has a girl with sword ( Raimei ) which is my type of anime girl ^_^. It’s definitely in one of my top list to watch for Spring 2008

    As for Wagaya no Oinari-sama, it somewhat reminds me of Inuyasha for some reasons. Haven’t watched anything similar to Inuyasha for a while so I am going to keep watching it ^_^ to see how the story goes.

  4. April 26, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Rin, Unfortunately, I will be skipping Geass because I never finished the first season. Yes, you may laugh at me now.
    Marcus, Well, I usually give three to four episodes before deciding what to watch, so this has 2 left.
    Saku, Yeah Naruto sucks, etc. Also, girls with guns > girls with swords. And I’d assume that Wagaya no Oinari-sama does that because of a male (side of a) character that has animal ears.

  5. April 30, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Most people prefer girls with guns for some reasons based on what I observer but I stick with girls with swords for now ^^.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,267 hits

