27
Apr
08

Quick Figure Write-up: Kinoshita Rumi

This time it’s Kotobukiya’s Kinoshita Rumi from Pia Carrot! To be more specific, she’s from “Welcome to Pia Carrot G.O.” I got her just this evening when I sold Ryouko to Snacks just a few hours ago. He decided to have us meet in a toy store, and well, when you just got money, and you’ve been looking at a figure at 50% off, well… yeah.

The rest of the shitty pictures plus a bit of commentary on the shoot after the jump.

The thing that really drew me to Rumi was her pose and smile. While the pose itself is, well, revealing to say the least (for the backside anyway), it compliments her incredibly happy expression.

A lot of details are present in the sculpt as well. Ribbons and frills and accessories all over. She has a waitress uniform headband and ribbon on, a choker with a similar design, and another ribbon on the apron itself. There’s even a Welcome to Pia Carrot! button on, all of which help put in a bit of asymmetry to the entire thing, as well as giving the somewhat monochrome outfit a lot more color.

As we can see, her gloves have a little bit of design too; her shoes also have a bit of lace and a flower design in the center – they really put quite a bit of detail into her.

Obligatory panty shot. I don’t even know whether to call it an “upskirt” shot because that skirt is practically lifting itself up. Notice the design and paint on the stockings too.

A good figure to fill in the hole left by Ryouko, but she will still be missed. However, Exelica beckons.

Notes:
This is the first time I’ve done full color correction for the pictures (I think). Even with the white balance settings set to tungsten (that’s the closest to what I’m using), there still is a huge difference between color-corrected, and non-color-corrected pictures. To illustrate, here are samples of the color-corrected and non-color-corrected versions of the first picture. I believe the difference is clear enough. No other post-processing, except for one picture that needed a bit more color saturation – using an S-curve curve adjustment does wonders.

My color correction method works like this:
-Layers > New Adjustment Layer > Threshold
-Use color picker to pick brightest highlights and darkest shadows
-Layers > New Layer (difference) → New Layer (filled with 50% gray)
-Use color picker with Threshold layer to pick middle gray
-Layers > New Adjustment Layer > Curves
-Color correct and apply further post processing if needed

All in all, it takes me about 2-3 minutes, depending on whether I feel like it or not.

For the shoot itself, I never actually got any special equipment – just the spotlight in my cabinet. The felt paper I have, if used there, gets its texture scraped off when I move it up and down the thing. No diffuser used either so the lighting is super harsh. That basically explains the crappy background and the poor lighting, though this was a rush shoot, so to speak, so I never really put much effort into it.

So should I continue post-processing? Or leave photos as-is?

6 Responses to “Quick Figure Write-up: Kinoshita Rumi”


  1. April 27, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Looks like a very detailed figurine =O!

  2. April 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    I like the pose and expression. It’s better than some other figures of the same character that I have seen.

  3. April 28, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Marcus, Yeah, she has quite a lot of intricacies here and there, but nothing beats my wonderful Alter Fate ❤ ❤ ❤

    icie, Indeed her pose and expression are wonderful – while the pose screams, “STARE AT MY PANTIES” – she does add a lot of liveliness into the cabinet.

  4. 4 Aaron
    May 4, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    I just brought your “color-correction.jpg” file into Photoshop and applied my old-school style of color correction to the picture… and it was very close to what you got.

    The difference is that the old school way of doing it took about 5 seconds (for me) and is one step.

    I use the Image > Adjustments > Levels (-L or Control-L) to adjust each of the three channels (Red -1 or Control-1, Green -2 or Control 2, and Blue -3 or Control-3).

    Since your original picture had good coverage for each of the three channels from dark to light, I adjusted the mid point of each of the channels to a “notch” that was visible. (After doing this for a million years like me you’ll easily be able to spot a “landmark” that is common between the three channels.)

    If you want, you can adjust the overall gamma of all the channels (-0 or Control-0) to your liking.

    BTW: Nice panty shot. 🙂

  5. May 5, 2008 at 1:01 am

    Unfortunately, I have just about no skill in determining stuff like that – I prefer curves over levels because it’s quite a bit easier to use, and that’s what my photography teacher suggested over levels.

  6. 6 Aaron
    May 5, 2008 at 9:02 am

    To each their own. I can never get the curves quite right, but literally in 5 seconds, I was able to match your results (with a bit better black levels IMHO) using levels. It’s worth looking into…


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,297 hits

