30
Apr
08

Artbook: Comic Party Visual Fun Book

So I was browsing the local figure forum for any neat stuff, and I came across the ComiPa artbook. Seeing as it was only going for 600 Pesos, about 14 USD, I saw no reason why I shouldn’t get it.

To be honest, I have no clue on who Mitsumi Misato, Kanro Yuu (is that how you pronounce his name?), and Nakamura Takeshi are. I’d only periodically see things from them if it concerned anything Leaf, but no more.
First thing to note is that since the game was released 9 years ago, the artwork is definitely a bit dated. The shading in particular, is a little flat for some of the work. However, taking into consideration that CG technology wasn’t exactly as advanced as today’s Photoshop Suites, the artwork, particularly Mitsumi’s, is rather well-done.
Another thing to note – the artwork from game CG section (and basically any part that involves the game’s graphics) is rather blurry beyond a roughly 9 square inch picture. This is very clearly seen when a low resolution game CG is scaled to a full page – pixels all over the place. No one can be really faulted here though, because I’m assuming no one really bothered to make higher resolution CG suitable for large prints.
There aren’t too many illustrations in the illust. collection, though they’re not that few either. However, one totally awesome thing about this is that it comes with a five page pullout poster, fuck yeah. I wish it came with two though, because I’m not going to cut that single one out. However, if it did come with another one, I’d have it framed in mahogany or something and hang it in my room.
Nitpicking aside, I honestly don’t know if I would’ve bought this if it hadn’t been easily available at such an affordable price. Since that isn’t the case though, I’d say this is worth it, but not so much if you don’t like the artists’ styles.

A whole bunch of other pictures after the jump.

Excuse the blur – I was holding a lamp in the other hand so as to distribute the light evenly and to prevent the annoying shiny plastic effect in some pictures. Also, notice how some pictures don’t have thumbs in them? That’s because 238 pages make for a really thick and heavy artbook.

12 Responses to “Artbook: Comic Party Visual Fun Book”


  1. 1 TDOMJ
    May 1, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Ohh looks like a nice book man!

  2. May 2, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Wish I could find these artbooks by that price. That would mean I could buy a lot more than I do now 😦

    Nice haul though. Comic Party have a lot of good designs.

  3. May 3, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Sweet. And an absolute steal at 600 bucks.

    Speaking of artbooks, are you planning to grab a copy of Shinkai’s latest offering? I’d love to get my hands on it, but the only way I know how is through Amazon Japan – and ordering from there is tantamount to committing financial seppuku (via shipping and taxes).

    Guess I’ll have to stick to his DVDs for now. (T_T)

  4. May 4, 2008 at 12:47 am

    TDOMJ, yeah, it is awesome even if I don’t understand a word it says.
    manga, well, second-hand and all, but this was unbelievably well-kept. The plastic wrap it used to have was too tight though, and it smelled of mothballs (not a bad thing).
    Diego, I would love to right now; would you happen to know what the total costs are for ordering it so we can split the shipping? (eg: you get two copies, I pay for one, plus half of shipping)

  5. 5 V2
    May 4, 2008 at 12:54 am

    congrats on getting it! it really has pretty nice content!

  6. 6 Rin
    May 4, 2008 at 10:47 am

    WOW!!! Nice art book!!! The art is really cool!!! Great deal for $14!!!!!!

  7. May 5, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Ah! I bought this years back!

    Nice find~ Comic Party was one of the first eroge I really liked, and not just for the ero parts XD

  8. 8 soloista
    May 6, 2008 at 3:06 am

    I am a sucker for Misato Mitsumi and I’m interested in buying off that artbook off ya.

  9. May 8, 2008 at 7:02 am

    In case you don’t know who Misato Mitsumi is, let me just say that her (?) stuff is worth buying.

    This was also the first artbook I downloaded. Didn’t know heads and tails about ComiPa at the time, but it really made me try it out. In the end, the anime sucked, and the game hasn’t been translated.

  10. May 9, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Oh yes, ComiPa!
    I don’t have this one IRL (I wanted to buy it too but decided not to until I get lotsa moar money) but I kinda want that poster real bad OTL
    Also since I do enjoy Misato MItsumi’s artworks very much~ /o/

  11. May 10, 2008 at 4:45 am

    V2, Rin, yeah, the stuff in there’s pretty awesome, especially for the price.
    Aya, So was it a pretty good portrayal of the doujinshi-creation process?
    solo, Unfortunately, it’s not for sale 😛
    ritchan, So is Misato a he or a she? I haven’t found any info on him/her whatsoever.

  12. May 13, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Asahi-chan for the win!


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,379 hits

