05
May
08

Artbook: Your Eyes Only

Okay, I think I’ve been spending far too much money for artbooks now.

I’ve had a number of artbooks already, but this is the first English version artbook I’ve ever seen and impulsively bought. With 170 pages of art, one would expect a lot of content. Indeed, there is – about 150 pages of Chii… and nothing more, save for picture commentary.
Your Eyes Only is sorted, rather than chronologically, by theme (ergo: “flower.”, “after school.”, etc.). The art itself has a lot of relaxing, pastel colors, in a style reminiscent of Italian oil paintings. CLAMP’s art isn’t really the world to me – it’s nice and all, but it doesn’t particularly strike a chord. That said, a lot of the pictures here are very well done, nicely detailed, and pleasing to the eyes. Every so often, a black and white picture or collage of pictures breaks the monotony, giving some contrast and a bit of rest for the eyes – a rest much-needed, after having your eyes exposed to such a multitude of tones and shades of a wide gamut of colors. Rather creatively done, the back portion gives the commentary for each picture – the source and a bit of what CLAMP had to say on it.
Unlike just about every other artbook I have, there is no interview or text-heavy area in the book. I have no idea if the original is the same or if Tokyopop decided to just not translate that (which I doubt).
Nothing else to say, really. While the thing ran at Php 999 at Bibliarch, a sister bookstore of Fully Booked, I got it for about 800, thanks to a sale they had going on.
With over a hundred pages of illustrations, this is a must-have for Chobits and CLAMP fans. Still, now that I think about it, unless one is into collecting artbooks or is the aforementioned kind of person, this artbook isn’t really worth getting.

Hit the jump for more pictures.







Do forgive the blurriness again – I just finished playing IIDX when I took these.

15 Responses to “Artbook: Your Eyes Only”


  1. May 5, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I just bought this artbook few weeks ago. I’m not a fan of CLAMP or Chobits; but Chi is so cute in this artbook >.<

  2. May 5, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Well, you can color me impressed, at least. I’m a big fan of Chobits and CLAMP’s artwork, and those pictures are just the kind I like to see.

  3. May 5, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Lsio, indeed she is ❤
    Citrus, if I can get my scanner working, I can scan a number for you, though I’m pretty damn sure that scans have been uploaded already anyway.

  4. May 6, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Really? I’ll look for them, but if you could upload some scans in the future I would appreciate that as well.

    Actually, I really liked that Comic Party artbook you wrote about a little while ago, too.

  5. 5 TDOMJ
    May 6, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    I’ve seen this artbook in Kino for a while. It’s nice to find out what’s inside :3.
    Do you prefer artbooks over figurines? I know I do. Feels more artistic XD.

  6. May 6, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Not much japanese text is good for kanji-blind people like me.. just enjoy the nice photos enough right? 😄

  7. May 10, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Would love the same kind of art book, but featuring Yoko from xxxHolic hehe ^^
    Chobits is great, but a bit too… “white” for my tastes ^^; (however, the double page white/black is fantastic! this on a poster would be perfect to decorate hehe)
    Though I appreaciate CLAMP design, which “strikes a chord” with me actually, if you don’t mind me borrowing your words 😉
    so I must thank you for sharing this!

  8. May 10, 2008 at 4:49 am

    Citrus, Unfortunately, my scanner is being a hissy bitch right now, so I can’t get anything up right now; sorry.
    Marcus, I kinda like both, to be honest. One for 2D, and one for 3D, I guess. And artistic or not, what counts for me is if it’s awesome, be it a figure or an artbook. I will have to admit however, that the latter takes up much less space, though it’s hard to come by the former.
    Prim3, Pretty much how I enjoy my artbooks lol
    lu-k, I totally want a whole bunch of artbooks, but I guess we make do with what we have. CLAMP’s work, when painted, feels a little to pastel-y for me though, which is probably why I didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d expected.

  9. May 11, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Dash it, I should’ve bought this book when I had the chance. I may not be a CLAMP fan, but in a merchandising wasteland like the good ol’ RP I’ll take whatever eye candy I can get. (And that is some pretty sweet-looking eye candy right there.)

    By the way, are you still interested in Sora no Kioku? Found any place where we can get it cheap? (It’s still listed on Amazon Japan – ships in 3-5 WEEKS, ugh – but HMV is fresh out, and it looks like YesAsia won’t even bother putting this one on stock.)

  10. May 11, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Quick off-topic comment: What’s your opinion on MaxFac’s 1/8 Tsuruya? I’m thinking of bringing her into my life, but Nagato might get a little jealous.

    (Seriously, I found a site where she’s still on stock – but I’m sure she won’t be for long. I’m just casting around for second opinions. Thanks.)

  11. May 11, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    So far, nothing on any other sources of 空の記憶. Also, MaxFac’s Tsuruya seems like she’s a really good and popular figure, though I’m not interested in procuring her.

  12. May 13, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I like this artbook!!! Chii-ness…
    I would get it if I can find it…

  13. 13 morimoli
    May 17, 2008 at 1:41 am

    I really want this!
    She’s one of my favorite character designs ^__^

  14. 14 mints
    July 15, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I’ve never bought or even really seen an art book in my life before but I’m really interested in collecting them now. Not knowing anything about them, they are hard cover books right? Because when I checked Amazon it said paperback for this book and the Pita-ten one (which I want so badly). If so…I don’t think I want to be wasting money on it…help?

    Btw, I fully agree with you with the pastel colouring. And although CLAMP does have beautiful art works, sometimes they’re a bit too intricate and become difficult for the eyes to follow…or maybe that’s just me.

  15. July 15, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Artbooks in Japanese are pretty much paperback, though there are some hardbound ones (if my Little Busters! fanbook is any indication). As for English, I can’t really say, though I’ll make the assumption that they are paperback too. As for whether you should buy or not, that’s really up to you. If you are quite partial to the series, I see no reason why you should – especially if it’s at a low price. However, don’t buy artbooks for the sake of buying them (I should take my own advice, by the way) because you just end up with some random book with pictures rather than one that has stuff you care about.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

