16
Jun
08

ToyCon 2008 was…


This is sort of what I feel like, sans the bags and paper tube, and that rather than exhaustion, I feel disappointment.

a mediocre con. It was plagued with a lot of problems (like most cons here). Too crowded, not a lot of things to do if you’re not with a group of overly lively people (I was more or less alone both days), and so on. However, what I love about the cons here is that anyone can get a stall and sell whatever they want, as long as it’s related in some way. In the Philippines, because most collectors generally belong to a group that encompasses anything nerd-culture related, anime, cosplay, and everything else is included, so even if you’re just selling random anime merchandise, or stolen fansubs (shame on you), or old, second-hand stuff you wanna get rid of, then you’re allowed to.

Because I don’t care much for the con (cons themselves here suck in general), I will refrain from talking about the event itself. That and I forgot to bring a camera to take pictures so I’ll just leave that to whoever else writes about it. Or Google.

I’ll cut this off here because one of the three things I bought is rather not worksafe, so just hit the jump for the stuff.

Anyway, all that said, I only bought like, two things from it, but ended up spending roughly 67 USD (taking into account I get what, roughly 11 USD a week, and had less than half a month to prep for it, that’s more than enough for me (and I still have 340 USD worth of deliveries yet to come):

A Di Gi Charat trading card binder with most of a set completed, plus some other cards, all drawn by Koge Donbo (yes, I like her art, surprisingly). What kinda sucks is that I was originally planning to get a cheaper one with less cards but some jerk bought it before I did, which sucks. That bastard. Di Gi Charat is cool too though, despite my not having watched the show ever.

And Shoujo Sect 1. If you don’t know what that is, it’s, to be blunt, yuri eromanga – the normal, no tentacles, no futa, no bondage kind. Bought it on impulse because there was a stall that had the audacity to sell this kinda stuff. They had some other things, like boy->futa, bondage, and “Guilty Sacrifice”, which I’m assuming is also bondage/rape. What made this so outrageous is that these were being sold alongside perfectly safe things. And mind you, there were a lot of kids there – put two and two together and… yeah.

Later today, I visited a manga cafe that was closing, Manga Kissa 10, for unknown reasons (probably business isn’t going well? Or perhaps relocation?). Apparently, they were selling off all their Japanese tankoubon at like, 50 Php – a little over a dollar apiece – and I had to jump at the opportunity to complete my Chobits collection. While I had to buy the entire series (8 volumes’ worth), it was still an incredibly good deal. On a side note, I saw a guy getting the Prince of Tennis. Good God, that was funny. 50+ volumes would total about, what, nearly 60 USD?

So now I have duplicates of volumes 1, 2, 3, and 6 now. Wonderful.


For those in the Philippines planning to get themselves some cheap Japanese manga, the place is located near WalterMart on Pasong Tamo, Makati. Their business continues until tomorrow and after that, they’ll just be selling off their manga.

21 Responses to “ToyCon 2008 was…”


  1. June 16, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    I only went to ToyCon on day 1 only since I had to tighten my belt.

    Being not affiliated with any local nerd-culture groups sure had its toll on you. Well, do you plan to join one? (I am a senior member of an org, BTW).

    And I also bought a manga (it cost Php 100) from the same dealer where you had acquired Shoujo Sect 1. I thought it was safe, but when I started to read it, boom! It had H-content. Guess it’s too late to get my 100 bucks back.

  2. June 16, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    wow, may nagbebenta pala ng hentai dun. hehehe. 😀

  3. 3 soloista
    June 16, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    So much for a manga cafe.

    Anyway, cons here lack breathing space, and moreso, panels! I think that I could tell that Toycon was pretty vapid because the programming was pre-occupied with bands playing every hour and contests.

    Yeah, Anime North is lightyears better.

  4. 4 westbluef
    June 17, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Ditto on the cons here sucking and Manga Kissa closing I used to go there back then (since its near my school) back then there rates were really sky high (160 php for the first hour), and 50 php for a tankoubon? I guess I spent a lot back then…

  5. June 17, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    First Toycon where I never bought anything, rofl.

    I wish I could’ve gotten those kaiju Vinyls though.

  6. June 18, 2008 at 12:58 am

    The kids that unknowingly buy that H-manga are going to get a shock. Then again, what do you expect it to be about just by looking at the cover?

  7. 7 soloista
    June 18, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    What do you think needs to be done to improve the cons besides removing (totally unrelated) bands? Come on, urbandub being there? wtf.

    I’d suggest having interview and discussion panels.

  8. June 19, 2008 at 4:49 am

    I like the drawing on top XD.

    Nice entry. Hm, we have two anime conventions coming in August.

  9. June 19, 2008 at 6:50 am

    Wow, uh, this post seems to have garnered a lot of comments for some reason.

    Moonlight Bomber, I’d love to join a org on the “Appreciation of Japanese Modern Visual Culture”, but then I’m still in high school and all. And apparently, you sang Last regrets in the con?

    soloista, yeah, shitty cons, etc. Personally, bringing in a lot more dealers would be good, especially ones with totally obscure stuff like doujins, artbooks, and so on. Unfortunately, we don’t have a lot of those, so yeah. And of course, panels. Panels are a good way to meet people and to learn stuff from other people too.

    Westbluef, well, they are in Japanese, so yeah. I still get English versions for around 450 to 600, to the disdain of my wallet.

    Snacks, funny it’s the con I bought the least amount of stuff in, yet spent the most lol

    Yamcha, ironically the covers were highly explicit.

    Marcus, the drawing’s by FLIPFLOPS, if you’re interested. I’m sure you could hit up danbooru for more of their work. And lucky you, with your superior cons :<

  10. June 19, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    @Zeroblade:
    Actually, the org I belong focuses on local anime developments, like TV and cable schedules and whatnot. Of course, the org may expand its scope as its members learn more about nerd culture. I’ll inform you of developments that may be relevant to you.

    @soloista and westbluef:
    I actually have fun in cons, being a con rat since 2003. But improvements? Yes, they should be implemented. More dealers selling obscure stuff are OK in my book, and so are indie creators who want to echo the spirit of Comiket here in our country (I’m aspiring to be one, as I am currently working on a visual novel). Panels? Unless the organizers have lotsa money, we’re better off content with local mangaka and dubbers.

    @TDOMJ:
    Better give us your reports on the two cons if you plan on participating in both, please!

  11. June 19, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Forgot to reply to Zeroblade’s question re: “Last Regrets”. Sorry!

    Regarding that… I sang the song while I cosplayed as Yuuichi at AME Gakuensai last November.

  12. June 19, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Buying doubles of manga is probably the worst thing you can do. Luckily I haven’t come across that problem since I don’t really buy manga all that much, and I track what I have.

  13. 13 soloista
    June 20, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    People from the visual news gemot have set up their own panels on VNs in cons. I don’t see why it can’t be done here.

  14. June 20, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Double volumes. I’ve experience that before. Good thing I have friends that also want mangas. So I just sell it to them.
    You should come to conventions here in Canada. They’re pretty fun!!!!!! Anime North passed a 3 weeks ago and I still remember it was a great time. You should really go to conventions in other countries. It’s fun and a great learning experience.

  15. 15 soloista
    June 21, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Yep, even I found Anime North so good that I came back 4 more times.

  16. June 22, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I fail so much for not having known the existence of MangaKissa TT___TT *bangs head against the wall*

    I’m somewhat thankful that I missed this toycon, it wouldn’t be worth the time (and monies), if ever, based on the negative responses I’ve been hearing.

  17. June 23, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Adun, Well, it’s not so bad. At least I have extra copies for safe keeping. That, and they barely cost me a thing.
    soloista, Eh, Philippine conventions are usually pretty bad because of the lack of support that relevant, related local companies can give, is what I’m guessing.
    Rin, Unfortunately, overprotective parents + school + heavy lack of financial support = orz
    usagijen, Whoa, you didn’t know about it? I thought you, of all people, would. >_>
    And yeah, no one I know liked it, so good choice in not going.

  18. July 6, 2008 at 8:58 am

    my friend was over at Philippine for a school trip.
    Too bad, they can`t go there.
    No free day for them……

  19. 19 blackmarketagenda
    July 17, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    so you’re not associating yourself from that “nerd” thingy that you’ve mentioned during ToyCon? as if anyone can differentiate Wota’s from those collector wannabe’s… btw those people from ToyCon – those people are 100% WANNABE’S people who think themselves different in general and associated with Japanese pop culture who are denying themselves to be a full Wota’s are just plain nuts on a feces…


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

