09
Jul
08

Summer Season Stuff: Part 1

I’m sure everyone and their mom pretty much know about all this stuff by now, so I’ll just get to impressions.

V
Strike Witches
-tries to pander to numerous fetishes at the same time (lolis, guns, mecha-musume, animal ears, military [uniforms], etc.) and makes everything feel a little, I dunno, weird
-sticks to the mecha-musume concept a lot closer; thus, it feels so much more ridiculous (magical lolis flying around in plane parts shooting aliens?)
-large cast of characters and a short running time spells: a) underdeveloped characters, b) lack of actual conflict to make time for the characters, or c) “character grouping” wherein they are tackled in bunches, rather than singlely
-lots and lots of similarities with Sky Girls, but Sky Girls feels a bit lighter in tone and atmosphere, yet also more seriously done. Strike Witches’s lack of pants/skirts, makes its execution lose some of it’s drive (mostly because people will always keep that thought at the back of their heads)
-also, Geass.

YEAH BITCH SLAP
Telepathy Girl Ran
-OP is ugh. Say what you want but good god
-flamethrower dogs. Seriously
-I can sense lots of girl-angst going on, with one girl having a crappy childhood trying to make others’ lives miserable so they can suffer like she did, etc.
-they need to go easier on those glowing balls – I think having shit flying around with glowing outlines more than emphasizes their powers

Sora wo Kakeru Mahou Tsukai
Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~ Natsu no Sora~ (aka: Someday’s Dreamers ~ The Summer Sky~)
-visuals are a mix between something that sorta looks like superflat on the foreground with photorealistic backgrounds
-seems to be going for a “Magical Realism” genre, which I have a slight inclination towards
-OP is pretty good and catchy
-stone nipples don’t count by the way

rofl saikano with big tits
Sekirei
-boobs
-kinda typical with the “loser-guy-meets-awesome-girl-and-gets-dragged-into-some-crazy-shit”, though I’ve yet to see any more so I’ll stick with it longer
-boobs
-censorship is kinda mid-heavy, with flowers and large metal rods sticking out of the pavement
-did I mention boobs?

I would go
Slayers Revolution
-oh man, if previous seasons of Slayers were this enjoyable to watch, I really want to slap myself now for missing out
-glancing at the older shows (and not taking into account the other series are a decade old), the animation definitely looks a whole lot more polished, but still retains the character design easily identifiable with the Slayers series


Still awaiting a number of other shows, so this’ll be it for now.

8 Responses to “Summer Season Stuff: Part 1”


  1. July 10, 2008 at 4:57 am

    Strike Witches has tons more characters than Sky Girls, so I don’t know if they’ll be as well developed. Also, mecha and magic seems like a weird combo. But overall, we can keep watching this.

    Sekirei is too typical Shounen-manga.

  2. July 10, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    This very nearly became the first season in which I didn’t follow a single new series – until I saw ‘Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto’. I haven’t formally put it on my ‘Actively Following’ list, though; two more episodes should do it.

    On a whim, I picked up the first episode of ‘Natsume Yuujinchou’ (even though the subject matter really isn’t my cup of tea). I’ll also give that two more episodes before I hand down a verdict.

    ‘Sekirei’? Ugh, mammary overload. Pass.

    ‘Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu’ premieres today; subs should be out in a few days. The romance aspect of the story is putting me off, but the main character (a closet otaku) seems interesting enough so I’ll give it at least one episode.

    Oh, and I need a good comedy. Any recommendations?

  3. July 11, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Add Birdy the Might Decode to your queue.

    Strike Witches is my guilty pleasure for the summer. Who cares about underdeveloped characters, because gratuitous panty shots are clearly the focus of the show.

    Sekirei isn’t looking too hot so far but well… I’ll give it a couple more trial episodes. I’m not a boobs guy anymore so this may get dropped soon.

    You probably don’t need my opinion on Someday’s Dreamers.

    @Diego: It doesn’t look like there are any real comedies this season.

  4. July 12, 2008 at 4:28 am

    The earlier Slayers shows are superior than Revolution sofar. Much more laughter, nice getting all the introductions out of the way and all that.

    But all in all, much more fun to watch.

  5. 6 Aaron
    July 13, 2008 at 2:40 am

    I just watched Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto ~ Natsu no Sora~ and Sekirei. Your reviews are spot-on. I hope to see more of Sora-chan! Kawaii!

  6. July 13, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Marcus, judging from the second episode, I’ve got higher (not necessarily high) hopes for the series now, given the large reduction in fanservice shots.
    Diego, Natsume Yuujinchou… I need to get to getting a copy of that. Likewise with NHnH. As for comedies… there isn’t really much. Actually, I don’t even know if there are any at all this season.
    Snacks, and later on in the series, DFC.
    Yamcha, Yes, Birdy the Mighty seems to be gaining interest lately; I ought to watch it soon.
    Manga, I hear that Slayers itself is pretty bad in comparison with the others; is that true?
    Aaron, Yeah, more Sora! More slice-of-life!

  7. July 23, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Sekirei maybe worthwhile watching… hehehe…


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,023 hits

