09
Aug
08

New Figures and Some Other Stuff

I just realized that Rein’s been waiting in the shop since last month, so I went there to pick her up. figma Nanoha was just out too, so I got her as well. On the way back, I stopped by the Fully Booked in the Promenade in the hopes that they were able to get copies of ARIA or AQUA. Sadly, they did not. They did, on the other hand, have a bit of new manga, including Ani-Manga of a GITS 2 movie, its prequel, and some other things. There were also a couple of Hana Kimi artbooks, two different FMA artbooks, and even an Eva one. Unfortunately, the latter one was out of my budget. I also spotted a pair of Shana light novels – I figured I might as well, so I got the first and reserved the other.

Right now, I’ve only made my way through the first chapter. It’s been pretty neat so far, but either the novelist is really wordy about everything, or the translation just feels a bit clunky. There was also an error that they missed in editing (“He body”), but it’s overall still a pretty decent read. Paper quality was really good compared to the usual manga paper, though the illustrations feel slightly blurry. Whether that was an intended effect of Noizi Itou, the drawing was upscaled, or the print quality was bad is yet to be determined, though it’s probably not the latter as the text was crisp and cleanly done. I liked the color inserts too – thankfully printed on glossy paper and not just done in black and white unlike most full-color pages from the serials that end up getting B&W’d for some reason (hell if I know why – probably cost-cutting). The paper probably wasn’t cut all that well on my copy though since there were little tidbits still sticking out of the book’s edges when I unwrapped it.
Still, light novels are light novels, and I figure I ought to get more real text in my head, rather than just pictures.

As for what’s happened to Nanoha and Rein, the latter’s sitting alongside Fate in my display cabinet.

Nanoha, on the other hand, keeps watch over me while she hovers over my AVR.

Back to real life, quarterly tests are coming up this Wednesday to Friday, I have a speech/presentation to prep myself for on Monday, and I have to redo the damned thing because I was sick when somebody lost the original when it was distributed. Then after that, I have to get a bit of (crappy) amateur filming done for (rather labor-intensive) Chinese computer class, and then I’ll want to hit the books again as my Japanese class’s finals are this Saturday and I missed about one and a half lessons’ worth because I was at my immersion, was sick, and today, was at school having Chinese oral tests, which I probably bombed because I couldn’t think straight and was given less than 5 minutes to prepare an impromptu dialogue with all sorts of technicalities and such. Either that, or I’m just plain stupid with Chinese.
Started playing Magical Smash on a whim too. Anyone else playing?
And I got better at IIDX. Hooray.

Boy, life is good.

10 Responses to “New Figures and Some Other Stuff”


  1. August 10, 2008 at 1:24 am

    The Rein figure is pretty nice. Personally I would want the Alter Hayate that is coming out but that thing is crazy expensive.

    Unfortunately I don’t play Magical Smash though it looks pretty cute. May try picking this up one day if I am bored.

    This post also reminds me that I have to start reviewing Japanese or I’m going to look like an idiot when I get back to school. What do you do to study?

  2. August 10, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Mmm getting a whiff of Rein was magical. *w*

  3. August 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I’ve been meaning to ask: where do you get your figures? It’s high time I paid that shop a visit just in case they have anything I like. Ordering online is too much of a pain.

    I don’t think Fully Booked did a lot of restocking for either Aria or Aqua. I was at their main branch (Bonifacio High Street) yesterday and they only had one volume on stock. Same as last week – and the week before.

    On a whim, I picked up the first two volumes of the Shana manga series a couple of weeks back. I still haven’t opened them (not enough leisure time), but the reviews I’ve read so far aren’t exactly glowing (consensus: anime version trumps manga version). I’ll move on to the light novel series if Volume 2 leaves me less than impressed.

  4. August 11, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Nice figurines.

    Oh light novels are getting translated now? :O

  5. 5 Roy
    August 11, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Love the Rein figure,she looks adorable and so does Nanaho^^
    not familiar with any of the other stuff though:/

  6. August 12, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Honya, Unfortunate for my wallet, but I’ve already pre-ordered not only Hayate, but Signum and Unison Vita as well. And I still haven’t gotten Exelica despite a 4-month delay >_>
    Snacks, So was getting a whiff of Nanoha :3
    Diego, only place I ever get ’em from is WasabiToys, but all my orders are pretty much online in the sense that I have stuff pre-ordered and I only go to the brick and mortar outlet to make downpayments and to pick up orders.
    And yeah, it sucks that there just isn’t enough Aria love here. As for the Shana manga, I only read a chapter or two of scanlations, and while I don’t remember the story or narrative qualities anymore, the art was really cute to look at, though it might not be very suitable for the latter, more serious parts of the novel. The light novel, on the other hand, is a fun read. There’s always a sense of closure at the end of the two novels, and yet you’re left wanting more. Whether it’s because of the writing or because of Shana is entirely up to the reader.
    TDOMJ, Yeah, seems light novels are starting to pick up now. Shana’s obviously out now, and Zero no Tsukaima and Kanokon will be out later this fall too – definitely looking forward to the former.
    Roy, Indeed, Rein Zwei is ❤

  7. August 13, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    oooh… still have to get my figma Saber & figma nanoha @ Wasabi…

  8. 8 soloista
    August 14, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Did you make it to the final list for Wordcamp?

  9. August 16, 2008 at 10:37 am

    soloista, I think I did? ._.

  10. August 18, 2008 at 1:27 am

    SHANA!!!! If you don’t read it in the next hour I will have to kill you.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,360 hits

