25
Aug
08

Misc. Updates Again

その目誰の目?

So I got a twitter. I figured it’d be a good place to dump extra cellphone load, so yeah rofl

I’ve also been playing Chaos;Head by using the translation found on the Project MOOGY Wiki (aka TLWiki).
It’s funny how I got interested in playing this game, actually. Initially, I’d only cared about its opening song – Find the blue, by Itou Kanako (one whose songs are pretty much hit-or-miss for me). Eventually, my inner curiosity got me and I was soon grabbing a copy of the soundtrack and the CGs. After that, I got a copy of the game itself, just for kicks. I was just idling in #ndt (at irc.ppirc.net) and then LoSs, who happened to be there, said “その目誰の目?” and mentioned having to translate complex quantum physics terms (eg: the Dirac sea) and I, putting two and two together, realized that a translation was in the works. However, to find it already fully translated, with only editing, proofing, and so on, left *coughKANONcough*, was quite surprising.
So far, it’s actually managed to get me pretty jarred whenever I play it (late at night ’til the early mornings). I’d prefer not to spoil anything, so I won’t go any further. However, I would like to say this one thing – Takumi, as a protagonist – is a wuss, a loser, a pussy, an otaku, and an antisocial jerk, even to his acquaintances and family – the quintessential “scum of society.” Seriously. On the other hand, LoSs from #ensue (at irc.rizon.net) said that he was a GAR badass, so I’ll take his word for it.

Recently, I’ve also taken a fascination with writing instruments. Just yesterday, I bought myself 3 Uni Pin fine line pens, at 0.2, 0.3, and 0.5 mm thicknesses, a Zebra F-301 Compact (for the notebook), and a converter and ink for my old Parker Jotter. I also happened to come across my aunt Verna’s, god bless her soul, old Parker 45 (this was one of those manufactured in the 60’s, mind you), complete with the ink sac, so I gave it a thorough rinse, body, nib, and all, and it was good to go.
Writing with fountain pens initially put me off because of the thick lines and the delicacy with which one has to hold it with (in other words, I was used to writing with ballpoint) but for some reason, it just clicks now. They feel fine and write a whole lot better than normal ballpoints, though rollerballs are just as good.

Oh, and by the way, I’m still translating the “system” portion of the TWilight refrAIN manual, though at this rate, it’s really more of reading comprehension than it is vocabulary, given that most of the words aren’t in my own vocab and thus need to be dictionaried up (yes, I made that word up). I swear I’ll have it out by around Thursday at the latest.

2 Responses to “Misc. Updates Again”


  1. August 27, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I’m stuck debating whether to wait for the patch to come out (I didn’t see anything apart from the translation script in the wiki, not a patch or sample patch) or simply play it as it is. *Gloom*

  2. August 27, 2008 at 4:21 am

    I Wikied Chaos;Head and I’m now officially interested. I’ll try to remember to give this one a go if I have the time.

    Re: fountain pens. I used to write with them a fair bit when I was in high school. They gave my letters a nice, eighteenth-century look (especially after the addition of fancy swirls and flourishes). Trouble is, they don’t lend themselves well to left-handed writing.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,379 hits

