05
Oct
08

In Anticipation of an Aria

The boxset, that is. Diego’s probably ordered one for each of us already so we now play the waiting game.
As a pre-Aria sort of experience, I went and got myself Aria Volume 3, the latest so far (just published September this year). It’s indeed a very wonderful thing. Also stopped by AniCon 2008. Not really worth going to, but there were less sponsors. That’s cool. And there was a maid cafe (which I couldn’t get into because everyone kept staying for so long). Hit the jump if you care for the long version.

(note: you can skip this part if you prefer the cosplay pictures and stuff)

After I stopped over at my friend’s house to plan a project (which I’ll end up doing much of anyway) and a shot of Johnny Walker, I pranced on over to Greenhills, a local shopping center, on the way home from my commute (as in, public transportation). I’d intended to hit the two National Bookstores situated nearby for any rare fountain pens* or inks or whatnot, and I happened to notice there was an antiques fair going on. I figured a lot of people are pretty clueless about these pens so I might be able to find something there for cheap. Lots of bills, coins, furniture, watches – some of which I wanted – and whatnot, but nary a pen in sight, except one which I ended up coming back for the next day. Another quick stop at the Fully Booked nearby and I would call it a day. Miraculously, there it was, sitting in the bookshelf. Aria volume 3. I swiped it before anyone else would defile see it and had it reserved posthaste. Soon after, rain fell really, really hard so parents, ever the overprotective ones, had my dad fetch me. Later that night, I gave my aunt Verna, who came over to personally go to my grandmom’s cremation (I missed it because, well, see below), her old fountain pen, which then reminded my dad to go get his old pen – a Vanishing Point (fuck yes) so I could have my share of fun with it. After that, I went to sleep since I had exams the next day.


Inserting a little more wonderfulness into the wall of text.

Skip to today. I take my entrance exams for De La Salle University and then hop over to SM Megamall to meet usagijen and her friends, only one (whose blog URL I forget orz) of which I’ve been able to associate with properly as I met the two of them from WordCamp anyway, and then tarried for awhile (god I love that phrase). Took a few snaps of the cosplayers (most were in Death Note, Naruto, or random attire, so I didn’t bother with them), and then walked around a bit; bought some local anime magazines that were on sale too – it’s fun to read what people here think about the shows and then compare/contrast with those in the online world think. Notably, the former tends to be a whole lot more honest and analytical about the show (ie: Owen, et al). I’ll get to writing up a short review of the magazine in general later on. Anyway, I had to leave soon after so I played DDR ’til my legs gave in, and then ate a bowl of really shitty (price-wise) gyudon around 3. After that, I went to Greenhills once more, picked up the pen and had a bit of a chat with the antiques dealers there, and then got Aria. A shame I still can’t find Aqua vol. 2 and Aria vol. 1. And these come with premium prices too – about 140 Pesos more than an issue of Negima!. Anyway, I went straight home after that, and here I am.

So now for the cosplay pics, no? I’ll only put three up because I couldn’t take too many and most cosplayers were pretty meh anyway. Like a chubby Konata orz


She had a gun, but didn’t do the Evoker pose for some reason.


Too crowded for a decent shot. Also Yoko looks like a guy (oh god the horror).


One of few cute Shanas. Not sure who the other one is though; she seems familiar.

* – in case you don’t know, I’ve recently gotten into collecting and using fountain pens as a hobby. The pens pictured above are a (probably) vintage Pilot Vanishing Point and an older Parker Sonnet.

8 Responses to “In Anticipation of an Aria”


  1. October 6, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Hey… have you spotted me cosplaying as the Junker and carrying a “Reverie is Missing” sign?

  2. October 6, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Volume 3’s out?! Blast, I need to get myself a copy!

    (And as promised, I’ll keep you updated on those DVDs.)

  3. 3 steve
    October 6, 2008 at 5:03 am

    oooh ooh…can you link me the higher res of a href=”https://zeroblade.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/yay.jpg” title=”https://zeroblade.files.wordpress.com/2008/10/yay.jpg”> if you have it? please ^_^

    Been kinda looking for it everywhere

  4. 4 M12
    October 6, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Oh looks like a fun time :D. We don’t have another con here for another half a year or so.

  5. October 7, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Also Yoko looks like a guy (oh god the horror).

    roflmao. My officemate said the exact same thing… I hope the Yoko cosplayer won’t take this personally D:

  6. October 8, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Moonlight, yes, I did. In fact, around three o’clock, I had the emcees give a shout out to to “the guy with the Hoshino Yumemi, aka: Reverie, picture, usagijen and her friends, and all the Touhou fans.”

    Diego, if you spot an Aqua volume 2 or an Aria volume 1, do tell me as well. I may still be able to get the full series.

    steve, here’s a large version. Gotta love danbooru.

    M12, on the other hand, yours are awesomer D:

    usagijen: I don’t even think she’ll ever find this blog, actually >_>

  7. October 12, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Drawing doesn’t looks tat bad, I linked to you, hope you could link back and drop by as well on my Pinoy Teens 😀


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,137 hits

