21
Nov
08

Figure Review: Unison Vita

I’m not totally sure as to how many went and got Vita’s Unison version, rather than the regular Vita. In my experience here, I was practically the only one who bought Unison Vita, though a quick check of my feedreader and google show that there are at least a couple of people who like the striking color scheme of Unison Vita. Anyway, what do I have to say about her?

A moderate amount of things.

A quick look at Vita tells that the first thing anyone would notice is of course, the hugeass mallet, Graf Eisen. It, or should I say he, comes in three variants: regular, rocket, and gigant form, while regular Vita has the former two and Zerstorung form. It’s funny though, as, at least to the best of my knowledge, the gigant form shows up with Vita in regular form in A’s, while the Zerstorung form shows up in Unison Vita form in StrikerS.

One of the things that came to light only when I took some proper photographs days and days ago was that her dress – a very simple and cute dress at that – has a somewhat pinkish glow in some areas, rather than being a pure or dirty white all over. It’s a nice companion to the the pink jewels studded on her dress, as well as her gloves.

Her hat is also, bluntly put, ridiculously large and the bunnies on both sides only serve to complement its size. Not to say that they look absurd however, they accentuate the cuteness of the whole costume, as well as provide a childlike side to the whole thing, letting Vita’s wardrobe enhance the child-sized figure, and at many times, personality, that she has. The yellows of her hat and ribbons are slightly, ever so slightly, different from each other, though it’s not big deal. The cross designs on both her shoulders end abruptly in the back as well, so there isn’t a very smooth transition, texture-wise.

The pink of her ribbons is a nice contrast to the otherwise plain black-and-whiteness of the front part of her dress, yet still also complements the pinks in the dress and gloves. The choker also continues the cross motif found in many parts of her dress.
She shows her hot-bloodedness through her pose and facial expression, but her feminine grace still permeates throughout the way she somewhat daintily holds Graf Eisen.

The normal and rocket forms have a sort of shiny, metallic effect, even though they’re made of plastic. And that point is really sharp.

Perhaps a bit of Japanese flavor can be seen in the very elaborate, obi-like ribbon in the back.

Her boots are also studded with those pink jewels, keeping the trend of pink-on-white.

She looks quite excited to be swinging her rather unwieldy weapon like that.
The closeup also shows quite a number of excess chunks and pieces of PVC that were most unfortunately stuck there.

Similar to the 8th shot, but it looks a lot cooler with the gigant form.

All in all, a lovely figure, and with such an incredible, attention-grabbing, dynamic pose, a striking color scheme, and an overall great sculpt are all part of the quality craftsmanship we’ve all come to know Alter for. Both Unison Vita and regular Vita are, despite the minor flaws, a perfect addition to any self-respecting figure connoisseur.

PS: I seem to have accidentally switched to the single-image browser uploader here; does anyone know how to switch back to the multi-image flash uploader? Two and a half years of WordPress and I still don’t know what’s what.

9 Responses to “Figure Review: Unison Vita”


  1. November 22, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Oh god I was trying to keep myself from buying this but I may have to now once I get a part-time job assuming it is still in stock.

    Not sure about the flash uploader. I can’t get mine to work either so I have to use the browser uploader instead.

    PS Yeah I play on channel 4 of ai sp@ce but unfortunately I had to reinstall windows so may not be able to play again for a couple of days.

  2. November 23, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Great review.
    BTW, what camera did you use?

  3. 3 V2
    November 23, 2008 at 9:57 am

    nice shots. did you take these under the sun? looks pretty “lively”.

  4. November 24, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I’m a fan of Unison Vita as well. If I were to spring for a Vita figure, this one would be it. She looks especially good with Gigant form Eisen!

    Also, that’s a very elegant display base included there. It really enhances the whole presentation.

  5. 5 M12
    November 27, 2008 at 3:33 am

    It’s cool how you bothered to use a solid coloured backdrop :D. The shadows came out nicely, too. I wonder my photos never turn out this good ^_^;.

    Well done.

  6. 6 sunggyu
    December 1, 2008 at 10:02 am

    You know, the more I look at it, the more charm and appeal unison vita has, not that the regular color scheme is bad, just that I can see why so many people would prefer this one.

    your photo’s are great. I’m madly jealous of how clear and how well lighted each picture is. Could you give me some tips or advice on how to get the best out of my pictures?

  7. December 3, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Bah, I haven’t had the time to even reply lately. Blasted school.

    Honya, she’s worth it; trust me.
    Samejima, same as always, a Sony DSC-P150.
    V2, nope; used a funky setup with a pair of lights and reflectors.
    Citrus, I wish the bases were more solid though 😦
    M12, actually, I hated how the shadows are still so clearly seen; I need to find a better place to shoot.
    sunggyu, thanks very much, though I attribute the lighting to super rats and his incredible tutorial on lighting. I’ve just gotten a newer, better lamp for overhead lighting, which I’ll discuss in my (hopefully soon to come) review of Reinforce II.

  8. December 27, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks for sharing. Havent really see Unison Vita in shoot yet. :0


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,379 hits

