18
Dec
08

12 Days, 12 Moments in Anime – Day 4

�リコン

Moment #9 – kurenai

Initially, I was totally turned off by the character design and such – I’m sure many others were – but I got back and marathoned the series. Needless to say, I was awed. It hits me in just the right places. Compelling story, slice-of-life-y with a hint of action, great production values, good voice acting… and the list goes on. However, something about the series always bugged me – the ending. Now, a lot of people say that the ending was good. Indeed it was. But it wasn’t gratifying for me. I’d expected to have Murasaki just get the hell out of the household and live with Shinkurou. But instead, she resolves to fight against the Kuhouin traditions. A losing fight, perhaps, and perhaps not, but it just didn’t jive with me too much. It felt as if my expectations were betrayed (and in fact, they were). Shinkurou, Benika, and the gang, all went through hell and back to rescue Murasaki; she says that she’ll stay there in order to reform their ways, and everyone just accepts, no questions asked. Perhaps it’s just my tendency to go for those endings that appeal to your emotions. You know, the happy endings. I guess that in the end though, this was really one of the better ways to end it – a bittersweet, “true end”-like conclusion. But if I ever end up rewatching this gem of a show, I’ll always have the lingering feeling in me wishing for that “good end”.

4 Responses to “12 Days, 12 Moments in Anime – Day 4”


  1. December 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Murasaki’s decision is very Suzaku-esque; that is to say, shitty. I agree with you.

  2. December 19, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    ¡ay caramba! Kurenai is da best. I love the story. 🙂

  3. December 20, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    The ending could have been handled better, but after the initial round of cursing I managed to swallow it and felt quite good about it afterwards. I guess it’s a measure of how strong Shinkurou & Company believe Murasaki has become that they can trust her to make this decision on her own, and to bear its inevitable consequences when they arise.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,379 hits

