28
Dec
08

Accounting for 2008

As any regular reader of this blog will know by now, I am an incredibly impulsive spender, which translates to well, lots of needless spending and what I would call, “bad buys”. Because of my rabid fandom for some things, I also tend to completely ignore the price when it comes down to it, like Adun. There have been a number of factors that somehow inhibited my overall spending, such as figures that never arrived, the global economic crisis, and another new hobby. Still, compared to previous years, my spending has still increased significantly. Hit the jump for details.

I’ll be honest – I forgot to keep track of my spending again so this report will be really lacking in terms of specific dates and prices. Therefore, rather than analyzing when I spent the most, I’ll be analyzing where I spent the most. I’ve constructed a really horrible-looking spreadsheet for anyone interested; you can have a look at it here (copy-pasted into word because .xls isn’t allowed) so you can have a better grasp of what I’m referring to. So now without further ado, a chart! By the way, do note all values are in Philippine Peso (converter).

It’s quite clear that the largest amount of money went to figures, followed closely by manga. Had Exelica arrived on time (or at all), she probably would’ve raised the value close to 20,000. A lot of the figures I spent on were actually really old preorders, dating back to months and months, even up to a year ago in some cases. I ended up selling Ryouko and Kureha (and I really regret that, to be honest) because I needed to pay back some debts that I incurred from a few loans from some friends. Rumi and Chihaya were pretty much impulse buys because I happened to have money with me and they looked pretty enticing. Now I’m regretting buying the latter too. While Reinforce II was the most expensive on the list, it’s Unison Vita with whom I am pleased the most.

Manga on the other hand, was pretty downplayed this year. Much of the money spent for it is thanks to the ridiculous pricing of the bookstores here for Tokyopop stuff; ARIA is sooo worth it however. The rest went into Negima! and catching up on Mushishi stuff, 3 volumes of which are still in their shrinkwrap. Mao-chan and Solanin were impulse buys, but I only regret having bought the former – it’s junk-food-type manga. In a convention I talked about here, I ended up buying some loose Chobits tankoubon (or was that last year’s?) as well as the full series later in the day. And of course, Shoujo Sect.

DVD purchases were kept to a minimum – just one box set and one DVD. ARIA is, of course, something I can’t not have, and so is 5cm.

I spent a lot less on magazines, and at the same time, a lot more for artbooks this year. I quit collecting Newtype ages ago, and thankfully my spending’s lessened. However, because a local shop decided to stock up on some other artbooks, such as Hakua Ugetsu’s Flamboyant, my spendy side got the better of me and had me plopping down quite a good amount of money for it and a pair of Megami Deluxe’s. The ComiPa fan book was also an impulse buy, mostly on account of how cheap it was; same with Your Eyes Only. Lastly, the LB! visual book just happened to be there because my brother was ordering something from Play-Asia, and ended up needing some more purchases to redeem my coupons.

Others is basically another impulse buy of a card binder with Koge Donbo stuff, and a pair of so-so headphones.

Best Figure Purchase:Alter 1/8 Unison Vita
Worst Figure Purchase: MaxFac 1/8 Hiiragi Chihaya
Best Manga Purchase: Tokyopop’s AQUA and ARIA releases (just need to get AQUA 2 now…)
Worst Manga Purchase: Del Rey’s Mao-chan vol. 1
Best Overall Purchase: Anything ARIA-related (eg: manga and DVDs)
Worst Overall Purchase: Card Binder & Trading Cards

As stated above, figures and manga have the lion’s share of my money. Artbooks still gain about a fifth of the pie while DVDs only get a measly tenth.

Amount spent on figures: 12100 PHP
Amount spent on manga: 10480 PHP
Amount spent on DVDs: 4250 PHP
Amount spent on artbooks and magazines: 7050 PHP
Amount spent on miscellaneous items: 3700 PHP
Total spent on anime goods: 35580 PHP

Yes, I realize my grammar is horrible. Anyway, I’m sure 100% of my reader base doesn’t really care for fountain pens so I won’t go into specifics. However, the fact that such a new hobby – one no older than a quarter of a year – has gobbled up a huge 30% of my major spendings this year is quite surprising. I’ll go and make an assumtion now that this will slowly dwindle down to maybe 20% by the end of next year because, like all new things, I’ll slowly lose a bit of interest and maybe go at it at a (comparatively) more casual pace.

Amount spent on fountain pens and inks: 15580 PHP
Grand Total: 51160 PHP

Edit: Okay, so I ended up buying ANOTHER pen (Parker Vacumatic Major <3) which adds another 2000 to my expenditures, leaving me with a final grand total of 53160 PHP spent.

Happy New Year indeed.

11 Responses to “Accounting for 2008”


  1. December 28, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I never though of doing pie charts, lol. But then to break down the categories is too much effort.

    A great effort you have put in there for 2008. Though I’m not surprised at how your new hobby for fountain pens has take a decent slice in the overall spending. When I got my DSLR camera it had took a HUGE chunk in the following year.

  2. December 28, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Well done! Your track record puts many other impulsive spenders to shame.

    And that’s a heck of a lot of money for pens. Not that I’m one to talk – my brother and I used to collect Parker pens when we were in high school and it cost us a fortune.

    Incidentally, I’ll need to come round knocking for that Aria set soon. Much as I’d like to rip up the tab, I’ve got my own compulsive spending requirements to meet. 😉

  3. 3 Jink
    December 29, 2008 at 5:02 am

    I’m gonna have to do this for 2009. I’m an impulsive buyer to. Especially with anime, which is funny because I lost interest in anime years ago(read: i grew up). Why the fuck can’t I stop buying anime dvds?

  4. December 29, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I’m an impulsive buyer too so I end up buying more than I really should and sometimes regret it. I think I should try keeping track of my otaku spending too next year but I don’t expect manga or DVDs to make much of a dent in my wallet.

  5. December 29, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    Adun, indeed, hobbies are scary; they can bleed your wallet to its last penny without remorse ;_;
    Diego, do you mean that I spend too much or too little in comparison to others? >_> Also, your payment’s sitting safe inside one of those red envelopes I get every year 😉
    Jink, at least all you get are DVDs (which are expensive enough – at least in here), as opposed to figures, manga, and artbooks…
    Honya, I’m trying to cut down on these impulse buys, but then my wallet seems to hate having money when I put some in, but when it’s empty it cries.

  6. December 29, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Pretty good haul 🙂

    Hobbies are really scary yes. Sure I´ve bought less games this year(I think) but man, it feels as if I´ve spent a lot on DVDs, games and not to talk about the new comp I got this summer…

    And the year isn´t finished yet so I might end up getting more.

  7. December 30, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Thank your lucky stars you’re not into computer hardware or souping up your car (which can get really really expensive). I’m only into (retro) computer hardware at the moment, luckily, so I can get by spending less.

    Everything anime/manga comes through my ethernet cable.

  8. December 30, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Looks like a fruitful year for you too! The pie charts a great way to see the allocation of your spendings. It’s interesting that mine’s approximately 1/3 for figures, dvds and artbooks.

    Looks like a challenging 2009 ahead! Hope you tame the impulse monster 🙂

  9. 9 M12
    January 3, 2009 at 4:28 am

    It’s interesting to see how manga occupied most of your spendings. Most people spend on figurines, etc. You must have a lot of manga! Also, credits to you for buying instead of just snatching off the net. Happy New Year.

  10. January 9, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Even though u said this is just estimation, but it’s still quite a lot..

    You like pen collections eh? 😉

  11. January 9, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    Gah, I keep not noticing that people comment on my older posts >_>

    manga, likewise, I did end up getting more, though it’s not so much anime-related as it is a pen.
    ritchan, I leave that up to the future to decide. Hopefully, it won’t get worse.
    Stripey, no budget for the manga? Or you’re just not purchasing them anymore?
    M12, yes, I do pride myself on buying stuff, but given all the games and stuff I ended up getting by loving the internet, I don’t think I can still consider myself a good “supporter”.
    Prim3, yeah, I like how you can collect them and use them at the same time. Plus, unlike art or whatever other thing, these are very personal, daily-use sorts of items that gain more sentimental value for me as time passes.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

