06
Jan
09

On the Merits of Anime Blogging

Why do I blog? What keeps me going? I’ve asked myself those questions whenever I went on hiatus (often) and I don’t think I’ve quite yet answered those questions.

Ultimately, I’ve narrowed it down to three main factors: expression, reflection, and interaction.

Expression. This is pretty much what blogs are all about: expressing what’s on your mind, be it about symbolism and shinboism, about how wonderful the world is, or whatever else comes to mind. Because the blog, unlike say, a review site, is a lot more informal in terms of style, yet it maintains some proffesionalism that what you say is clearly distinguishable from oh, a forum post. Furthermore, because of the free nature of the medium, you can post whatever you damn well please, as Sankaku Complex demonstrates quite clearly. The blog is a burgeoning new form of medium that allows anyone to have a say, and now is a great time to be part of it.

Reflection. I like how blogs provide a venue for you to mull over things. In Real Life™, anime has virtually no place in more serious circles of society, leaving few chances for us to be able to think over that last episode in that certain anime, or the lines of our favorite characters. Blogs give us the opportunity to ponder all we like about that, and further encourage us to continue doing it.

Interaction. This is really what makes web 2.0, web 2.0. With the advent of all these social networking sites, user-controlled data, consumer-generated media, and all that jazz, interaction has really become one of the core components of the internet today. To bloggers, this means feeds, aggregators, and basically sharing the love. And let’s face it: there’s a lot of love to share.

16 Responses to “On the Merits of Anime Blogging”


  1. January 7, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I have been blogging for 8 years and I still have no idea why I do it, but the things you have listed and reflected on I can agree with too.

  2. January 7, 2009 at 2:40 am

    Been blogging for 3 years now even though my archive says I started in 2008 :p

    The reason? I wanted to improve my writing in english and I find english a way better language than swedish so that´s the reason.

    Started out with me wanting a site of my own, then I got my eyes on wordpress and it was fun to create posts with it so here we are.

    What I want to do now is to review games, anime or just talk about what I feel about the things that I enjoy in life.

    That and when it feels right I tend to try and write some stuff down and create fanfics that are fun for my visitors to read.

    In short, blogging is something that I have fun doing and therefore well I´ll keep doing it for as long as I find it fun.

  3. January 7, 2009 at 2:40 am

    And as usual when I´m tired I forget a lot of stuff.

    To the threads topic I agree with your points.

  4. 4 ghostlightning
    January 7, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I agree with all your points Zeroblade. In addition, to me it’s just amazing to be able to write. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do (being this old should give you idea of how long this writing desire has been repressed in me).

    Even more amazing, is the interaction with fellow writers. Just being around you guys who carry notebooks – with real notes – for the purpose of writing articles is mind-blowing for me.

    Don’t take it for granted. This thing we do, it’s awesome.

  5. January 8, 2009 at 9:02 am

    All three points apply in my case, although I haven’t given my own blogging motives much thought recently. After reading usagijen’s self-exposition on this matter, and now yours, I’m thinking it’s high time I started reflecting on the whys of my favourite online hobby.

    Of course, so long as blogging remains a mentally rewarding exercise for me I don’t particularly care why I do it. 😉

  6. 6 Fox
    January 8, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    You write so well. I wish I could write like you ;_;

  7. January 8, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Koji, I know that somewhere, there’s something else compelling me to keep going, but I can’t quite put it into words just yet.
    manga, Yeah, blogging has to be fun; it’s no good if you start hating it (which is what I should get to writing about next).
    ghostlightning, I’ve never really been the expressive type, and therefore, don’t really find it as something I’ve always wanted to do. It’s just that there’s a certain feeling you get when you write something worthwhile.
    Diego, Blogging is indeed a mentally rewarding hobby. It allows for better appreciation of the medium and develops all sorts of communicative and analytical skills.
    Fox, Aw shucks, thanks. I personally thought my writing was garbage >_>

  8. January 9, 2009 at 7:05 am

    I’ve always viewed it as an opportunity to blab about stuff my friends don’t care about at all, which would be anime and figures. I’ve never really been a fan of the forum format, since that’s almost always about trying to be right instead of expressing something.

  9. 9 sybilant
    January 9, 2009 at 10:47 am

    You’re pretty expressive to me. And the depth belies your years. ^_^

  10. January 9, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    super rats, given the current state of most forums, I can’t help but agree >_>
    sybilant, thanks :3 It was great talking with you too 😀

  11. January 10, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    A rather accurate model for why I blog. I first started out to express, then I found that blogs were useful for reflecting upon.

    Interaction never played a large part for me, because most people who comment on my blogs never post anything significant (boo hoo, if somebody wrote a point by point thesis on how Perfect Blue sucked, I might even make the comment into a post, I’m just that desperate).

  12. January 11, 2009 at 8:22 am

    I too didn’t really ponder about this issue so much thesedays, though in the early days of my blog, all I wanted to do is share the specifics of the anime culture which I admire in a way I could, photography. Plus it was fun to muck around with the technical side of blogging as well.

    Nowadays I’ve become a lil less enthusiastic, lots of things started in my life and I feel I don’t have the same drive as I used to. However, I still enjoy it quite a bit when I do get around to posting, I just feel that I haven’t been paying attention to others as much as I should be.

    A nice post, it’s good to see well articulated posts every now and then in the blogging scene.

  13. January 11, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    ritchan, likewise; started out as merely “saying stuff” for me, then moved onto using it as an excuse to think about stuff more, and it ended up being a great way to interact through comments and trackbacks and stuff with other bloggers.
    Aya, honestly, it’s really hard for me to write about posts too; sometimes I don’t feel the drive to, and it’s hard for me to think of a topic and to sustain it for a long time (the post here was ideally supposed to be 1000~2000 words). Hoping that college will get those juices (the brain kind) flowing.

  14. January 13, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I think I agree with your points, they’re probably the main reason I’m blogging as well. On a tangent of “reflection” as well, I’ve also found that I learned a lot about anime and otaku culture in the last few months just by reading people’s blogs and posting my own thoughts. I know I would have never picked up any of that just by watching hundreds of anime, so even on top of the obvious benefits of making new friends and expressing oneself to people who actually care, I’ve also found it to be a bit of an enlightening journey. Or maybe that’s just me making things sound melodramatic 😛

  15. January 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    I wish I started blogging earlier. For me it started off as a way to express my interest about more niche otaku things a majority of my friends don’t really have much of an interest in but it has grown to something more than that. It is a great alternative to social networking sites (of which I have no accounts) and forums (which I have very few of) as a way of expressing my ideas. I still ramble on about stuff I fall in love with but the interaction aspect you mentioned has steadily become a greater aspect. I also find it an enjoyable way to practice writing and relax from school even though it takes up as much time if not more than an actual real college course.

  16. January 19, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Blogging is many things, and I agree with most of points already mentioned. Another point I’d like to add is the phrase, “anything that isn’t recorded perishes” (…or something like that). I think I just want a reminder of how I felt a certain way from watching particular anime. It is sad that exhiliration, epic feeling of marathoning TTGL will soon be forgotten. I think capturing those sensations in words and pictures helps a bit (even though you can not completely capture it), and at least serves as a permanent reminder, rather than letting those feelings gradually perish into oblivion.

    So to borrow Honya’s words, I wish I started blogging earlier. My brain remembers why shows such as FLCL was so awesome, but my body barely remembers those sensations. Even if I started writing about it, it wouldn’t really be “capturing” the kind of affects going through my body at that point.


Leave a Reply

RSS Canned Dogs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 283,017 hits

