20
Mar
08

U-BOAT WAR EROGE

soukai_01.jpg

For no real reason, Makoto (if I remember correctly) from #ndt brought this up, and I had the irrepressible urge to play it. So I did. Do note that 90% of the stuff I’m about to say is mostly guesswork, with some crazy-ass romanization.

soukai_02_small.jpg

蒼海の皇女たち (Soukai no Oujotachi – Princesses of the Blue Waters) is set in a fictional world with two of its nations fighting each other for control of territory/resources/whatever (I can’t remember anymore) with you on the side of Nordenfeldt army. Apparently, the higher-ups decided to initiate the Mysteltine Strategy, where a submarine would be deployed against the enemy, supposedly to boost your nation’s army’s morale. Of course, this being an eroge, everyone but the captain is a woman. Playing as the captain, Aal Vanrieth, of the Uldiana, you are to guide a crew of 43 (women) to help your country win the war.

soukai_03_small.jpg

The game itself is pretty standard fare, for an eroge. Lots of talking, occasional decisions, and so on. However, the engine it runs on allows for some pretty neat stuff:

soukai_04.jpg

For example, there are cut-ins, which function almost like a second window. These cut-ins allow the player to see from two different viewpoints, which is kinda cool, if you like that.

soukai_05.jpg

There are probably other overlays too, such as this where the the name and rank of the girl you’re talking to appears. In this case, you’re talking to is First Lieutenant Stia Noil. She’s a senior officer and second-in-command (and obviously one of the main girls).

soukai_06_small.jpg

Not only that, but within the window, 3D Movies are overlaid too, mostly from a camera angle outside of the sub to show you what’s going on. In the videos here though, they merely show the sub traveling through the water, though I suspect that they’ll get to bombers dropping their payloads, destroyers laying depth charges, and of course, your sub taking out ships (but hopefully not the other way).

Anyway, it’s actually quite a chore to play because I use rikaichan and Wakan a whole, whole lot when it comes to translation, so my desktop looks something like this. However, I’ve never really tried my hand at playing eroge “raw”, so this could be a good learning experience.


10 Responses to “U-BOAT WAR EROGE”


  1. March 23, 2008 at 9:24 am

    lol, when I tried to play games like this I also had a similar setup to your desktop XD

    It was quite annoying tho, prolly moreso in myself for not being able to understand more of it.

    The game looks pretty interesting, but I have a sudden urge to tap on the u-boat in morse code “I am U-571 destroy me” XD

  2. March 24, 2008 at 12:58 am

    ooo this game looks interesting. I shall go get a copy to play.

  3. March 24, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Wow those graphics look great. Too bad I’m not really into eroge. Anyway, nice review.

  4. March 24, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Good-great-golly-gosh, first I heard there was an eroge built around curling, and now you tell me we have Das Boot: The Eroge? Japan, Japan, when will you cease to surprise me?

  5. March 29, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Damn weird. But there’s a girl who looks like Fumika from Shigofumi… so that makes it even more weird. And really, having sex in a U-Boat? There’d some cold steel action fetish thing going on (like *** on the door handle), because I’m sure it’s quite chilly in those depths.

  6. April 16, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Wow, I thought I was the only blogger aware of the existence of Eushully/Anastasia. This is actually one of their more ADV based games. Most of the time they make innovative (for eroge) RPG and Strategy Games. Look for Ikusa Megami 0, I’m telling you people right now, it’s going to be something else.

  7. 7 cyrus128
    May 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    The game is fun and I love playing it, it is kinda weird though.
    I was wondering if anyone has a 100% save file for this game or where to get one, just some scenes I cant seem to get to happen.

  8. 8 Knightmare
    November 7, 2008 at 11:55 am

    where can i download this


Leave a comment


RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Heisei Democracy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 285,577 hits