28
Sep
08

Real Life Updates Again

delicious ink

Got myself some nice fountain pen ink – Aurora Blue – and it went for pretty cheap too. I’ll probably start buying bottles en masse and hoarding them because there aren’t any other decent places to get the stuff.

Also, my grandmother died. Apparently a blood vessel in her head burst and she lapsed into a coma. They terminated the meds and she died three days later – around 1 am today.

I don’t know why, but I don’t really feel sad about it. I mean, while she is family, we were never that close. No real bonds were formed I guess, and when you don’t become attached to something or someone, it’s just that much easier to let go.


5 Responses to “Real Life Updates Again”


  1. September 29, 2008 at 4:42 am

    My sympathies for your loss. I can understand not feeling particularly sad over the event – I lost three relatives this year (including an uncle) and their passing didn’t really trigger any strong emotions. I felt sad, yes, but not enough to mourn deeply. As you pointed out, it’s easier to let go when no strong attachments exist.

    I remember the first time I refilled a fountain pen’s ink reservoir. Huge mess – ink-stained tissues everywhere. Writing wasn’t a picnic, either: I’m left handed, so my fingers would occasionally smear across the wet ink whenever I’d forget to keep my hand elevated.

  2. September 30, 2008 at 6:09 am

    Kinda sad, but I felt the same way about my grandmother’s death as well. My condolences.

  3. 3 Aaron
    September 30, 2008 at 9:37 am

    My heart-felt sympathies go out to you and your family. Sometimes you know when it’s someone’s time to go and you’re not as sad as if they go unexpectedly.

    When my maternal grandmother passed on, I wasn’t affected at all. We weren’t close at all. When my great-aunt (my maternal grandfather’s sister) passed on, I was quite affected because we were close.

  4. 4 teenageprodigy
    October 1, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Condolence to you and your family, John.

  5. October 1, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks. Though honestly, visiting the wake every single night for a week is seriously cutting into my “me-time”.


Leave a comment


RSS Hunting the Elusive

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Heisei Democracy

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

a

Blog Stats

  • 285,577 hits